Synchronize / Cloud Sync
The "Synchronize" feature synchronizes the currently opened Bookmark database with a local Cloud folder or a user-defined local folder on your PC or network.
If you want to synchronize your database via a Cloud service, you must install the client of the Cloud service you use, or alternatively the tool "rclone", which synchronizes a predefined local folder with the Cloud. All data stored in the Cloud is encrypted.
When is this feature required?
Use this feature if you work with WebSite-Watcher on more than one system, for example on a desktop PC and a notebook. You can synchronize both systems through the Cloud to keep the same Bookmark database on each device.
Options
- Sync downloaded images
If enabled, WebSite-Watcher synchronizes all images that were downloaded and saved in the local Cache folder. Depending on your configuration, this can significantly increase the size of the synchronized data. - Only for unread Bookmarks
If enabled, WebSite-Watcher synchronizes downloaded images only for unread Bookmarks. Unread Bookmarks are displayed correctly on synchronized PCs, while read Bookmarks are displayed without downloaded images. As soon as a Bookmark check detects an update, WebSite-Watcher automatically downloads missing images. This option can significantly reduce the size of the synchronized data.
Rclone
WebSite-Watcher can use the tool "rclone" to synchronize data with the Cloud. If rclone is installed on your PC, enter the path to rclone.exe and the preferred "Remote". In this case, no additional Cloud client is required.
"Remote" is the profile name of a Cloud service that you configured in rclone. If synchronization with rclone does not work correctly, you can temporarily enable Debug-Mode to view results and error messages from rclone.
More information and documentation about rclone are available at:
If you are not familiar with rclone, it is a recommended tool, especially in combination with the Cloud-Sync feature in WebSite-Watcher. Rclone supports many Cloud services, can add additional encryption to your data, and provides reliable synchronization of Bookmarks between PCs.